District Administration is a bridge between the Government and the common man. This system has a long tradition in India and has been adopted even before independence. The South-West district is headed by the Deputy Commissioner followed by an additional District Magistrate (ADM) as second-1n-command. The ADM functions as the Land Acquisition Collector of the district and carries out the functions of acquisition of land, taking over possession of land, assessment of compensation for land taken over for public purposes.

The district is divided into 3 subdivisions and Sub divisional Magistrate (SDM) is the head of each subdivision. Each Subdivision is having revenue and clerical staff for its various functions. For revenue functions each subdivision has Tehsildar, Naib- Tehsildar, Kanungo and patwaris in that order. For other functions, there is clerical staff.

The Three Sub-Divisions are:-


The South West district has a varied character with Kapashera Sub Division as predominantly rural, Najafgarh Sub Divisionas mostly and the Dwarka Sub Division as a mix of both urban and rural.


Deputy Commissioner (South-West) has also been designated as joint Chief Electoral officer (South-West) for performing election related duties. In this work, he is assisted by all the SDMs and SDM (Election), for work relation to registration of documents, there is office of Sub-Registrar (South-West) directly under the control & supervision of Deputy Commissioner Office and BDO (South-West) is also a part of the office of Deputy Commissioner. Headed by the Block Development Officer, this office is responsible for custody of Gaon Sabha land and promotion of Agriculture, Horticulture and Developmental activities in the village. There is also a centre of Information Technology Department, GNCT of Delhi and NIC in the district when facilitates computerization in the district and links the district with world through internet.

Office of the Deputy Commissioner (South-West) offers a wide variety of services to the public such as:-

  1. Services pertaining to ownership of land
  2. Issue of certificates
  3. Registration of Marriage
  4. Registration of Documents
  5. Relief & Rehabilitation
  6. Loans for self employment
  7. Stamping of Documents
  8. Functions of LHA under prevention of food Adulteration Act
  9. Functions of Magistrate Under Cr Pc
  10. Land Acquisition
  11. Regulatory functions under Environment protection Act
  12. Miscellaneous functions under various acts, rules & control orders